Our lasting happiness and security in this world is not based on having everything go smoothly, or even having all of our physical needs met. Instead Jesus wants us to live a “blessed” life – to have what is sometimes called a “sacred delight”.

This “sacred delight” is found in the Beatitudes, sometimes they are known as the “beautiful attitudes”. They are eight “attitudes which should be in you” when you know Jesus and live as a member of His wonderful kingdom. In this nine part series we consider the context and purpose of the Beatitudes, as well as taking a closer look at each attitude and the importance of that attitude for our daily life.

Part 1 - Sacred Delight

Matthew 5:1-2

God has given His children the standards of kingdom living and those who meet those standards are blessed.

Part 2 - Spiritual Bankruptcy

Matthew 5:3

God says those who are poor in spirit will be blessed with the kingdom of heaven.

Part 3 - Mourning Over Sin

Matthew 5:4

God calls us to be kingdom mourners so He can give true comfort.

Part 4 - Meekness, Not Weakness

Matthew 5:5

God calls us to meekness and we will be blessed with a rich inheritance.

Part 5 - Famished Be Filled

Matthew 5:6

God wants the kingdom standard of righteousness to fill our life.

Part 6 - Delight In Mercy

Matthew 5:7

God wants us to fulfil the kingdom standard of being merciful because He is merciful.

Part 7 - The Vision Of The Upright

Matthew 5:8

God declares that we are to have an undivided focus as kingdom citizens.

Part 8 - Turning The Tide

Matthew 5:9

God calls us to be peace-makers in a world that hates Him.

Part 9 - The Prize Of The Persecuted

Matthew 5:10-12

God calls us as kingdom citizens and that means we will be persecuted.